How to buy FTM

What is FTM?

FTM is the token used by Fantom. Fantom is a Directed Acyclic Graph (DAG)-based smart
contract platform. It promises to solve scalability problems inherent in Blockchain technologies, as well as provide a platform for decentralized applications (dapps). There are a lot of other cool things it can do, but I just learned about it yesterday, so rather than try and describe it, here are some links that do it much better:

I found out about it through Andre Cronje. He’s the man behind yearn.finance, among other things. And I have him on my DeFi list on Twitter. He’s also part of the Fantom team. He tweeted about what you can do on FTM. I wanted to find out more so I dug deeper. I also saw a video that FTM is starting to go parabolic and I wanted in on it. Here’s how to get some…

The easy way…

The hard way…

If you’re like me and you don’t have a Binance account and don’t want to create one, but you have Coinbase and MetaMask, you can use 1inch to make the swap:

  1. Go to pro.coinbase.com.
  2. Buy Etherium.
  3. Transfer it to your MetaMask wallet.
  4. Go to 1inch and connect your wallet
  5. go to FTM/ETH swap and fill out the info.
  6. Be sure you have enough gas. One way to lower the gas cost is to open settings to adjust.
  7. In settings, enter a custom slippage tolerance of 5% and chose 128 standard gas price.
  8. Exit settings.
  9. Adjust the amount of ETH willing to send, if you don’t have enough in your wallet to buy and pay the gas price. If you have a ton of ETH in your wallet you shouldn’t have any problems.
  10. Choose the lowest gas cost.
  11. Click Swap Token. You should be able to move forward if you have enough funds.
  12. Confirm the swap on the modal that pops up. If you can’t swap for any reason, you’ll see an error. Correct the error until you can confirm on 1inch.
  13. Confirm the swap on MetaMask.
  14. Follow the transaction on Etherscan. It only took a few minutes for me.
  15. Profit!

You can connect your wallet to https://zapper.fi to keep track of the total value of your staked money and the money in your wallet.

I realize that by holding FTM, I’m missing the point of DeFi and staking. I’ll address that in another post. I did stake some USDC on https://staked.us/. I’m still in the DeFi 0.0 stage of buying and holding coins instead of than staking them. To be continued…

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started